Home → City Council

City Council

council group shot 2

Council members (standing,from left) Henry Naylor, Ward 5; Kim Bradley, Ward 1; Carter Carroll, Ward 3;

(seated,from left) Mary Dryden, Ward 4; and Deborah Delgado, Ward 2.

In 1985, the City of Hattiesburg elected its first officials under the Mayor/Council form of government. The City Council is the legislative authority of the municipality and is charged with adopting laws and setting policy for the City as a whole. Service on the City Council is for a term of four years and is classified as a part-time position. By state law, Council members can appoint a Council Clerk to assist with their duties. Council Clerk Debbie Bernardo maintains an office on the second floor of City Hall and can be contacted by telephone at 601-545-4551, Fax 601-545-4957, or by E-Mail at  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .  Click here for schedule of Council meetings.


Ward 1         Ward 2       Ward 3        Ward 4        Ward 5

The City of Hattiesburg is located in both Forrest and Lamar Counties and is divided into five wards, each containing approximately 9,000 residents. Wards are redistricted following each census.

The City Council switched to open, or "paperless" government in 2011. You can see the agenda and the documents associated with each item, as well as available minutes, at http://hattiesburg.legistar.com. You can comment on specific agenda items at the legistar site.

You can also comment on specific agenda items at Let's Talk Hattiesburg, the Council's new citizen participation page. We invite you to participate in surveys, forums, and discussions, and to submit your ideas and suggestions for improving the city.