## MINUTES OF THE

#### **REGULAR MEETING OF THE**

#### HATTIESBURG PLANNING COMMISSION

## **January 3, 2017**

The Hattiesburg Planning Commission did meet in a regular session on January 3, 2017 at 1:00 p.m. at the Jackie Dole Community Center, 220 West Front Street, Hattiesburg, Mississippi. Dick Conville, Chairman, presided over the meeting. A quorum was indicated and the attendance was as follows:

**Commissioners Present:** Dick Conville, Chairman

Amy Hinton, Vice-Chairman

Mark Miller Paul Sims Jessie Wilson Rebekah Ray

**Commissioners Absent:** Judy Corts

Sandra Thompson

Also Present: Ginger Maddox Lowrey, AICP, Planning Division Manager

Andrew Ellard, Director of Urban Development

Nick Williams, Planning Division

Chairman Conville declared the meeting of the Hattiesburg Planning Commission open and in session at 1:02 P.M.

## **INVOCATION**

Chairman Conville gave the invocation.

## AGENDA REVIEW

There came the matter of the January 2018 Agenda. A request was made by Chairman Conville for a motion to approve the January 2018 Agenda. A motion was made to approve the January 2018 Agenda by Commissioner Miller and seconded by Commissioner Ray.

**Commissioners voting aye:** Dick Conville, Chairman

Amy Hinton, Vice-Chairman

Mark Miller Paul Sims Jessie Wilson Rebekah Ray

**Commissioners voting nay:** None

**Commissioners absent:** Jessie Wilson

#### MINUTES REVIEW

There came the matter of the December 6, 2017, minutes. A request was made by Chairman Conville for a motion to approve the December 6, 2017, minutes. A motion was made by Commissioner Miller to approve the minutes and seconded by Commissioner Hinton.

**Commissioners voting aye:** Dick Conville, Chairman

Amy Hinton, Vice-Chairman Mark Miller Paul Sims Jessie Wilson Rebekah Ray

Commissioners voting nay: None

**Commissioners absent:** Jessie Wilson

## **REPORTS**

#### **BUILDING REPORT**

There came the matter of the Building Inspection Report. Steve Mitchell provided a building report for December 2017.

## **PLANNING REPORT**

There came the matter of the Planning Report by Ginger Maddox Lowrey, AICP, Planning Division Manager. On December 19, 2017 the City Council reviewed the following Hattiesburg Planning Commission recommendations and voted as follows: The City of Hattiesburg amendment to the Land Development Code (HPC approval upheld). The City Council tabled Clint Walker's application for a Digital Billboard permit until January 2, 2018. On January 2, 2018, the City Council Denied the application (HPC approval not upheld). The City Council also denied Clint Walker's related digital billboard variance approved by the Board of Adjustments.

Mrs. Lowrey also presented and discussed updated variance applications.

# **CHAIRMAN'S REPORT**

There came the matter of the Chairman's Report. Chairman Conville appointed a nominating committee for 2018 which consists of the following members: Jessie Wilson, Rebekah Ray, Mark Miller.

# PUBLIC HEARING - PLANNING COMMISSION

Chairman Conville declared the Public Hearing for the Planning Commission open at 1:15 P.M. and read the rules and procedures of the hearing.

There came the matter of Item A (Rezone), filed by Anthony Wansley, Contractor, on behalf of Clementine Benton, Owner as required in the Land Development Code, Ord. No. 3209, to change the zoning classification for a portion of the property located at 208 McInnis Spring Road (Parcel 041H-27-003.00, PPIN 6970, Ward 5) from Section 4.5.3, R-1A (Single-Family Residential) District to Section 4.5.7, R-3 (Multi-Family Residential) District.

	Name	Address	City/State
<b>Presented by:</b>	Anthony Wansley	PO Box 209	Star, MS
	<ul> <li>Applicant</li> </ul>		
<b>Proponents:</b>	None		
<b>Opponents:</b>	Frankie Benton	19 Langston Rd.	Hattiesburg, MS
	Gary James Jones	121 McInnis Springs Rd.	Hattiesburg, MS
	Ludell M. Allen	209 McInnis Springs Rd.	Hattiesburg, MS
	Winsdale Allen	209 McInnis Springs Rd.	Hattiesburg, MS
Chairma	n Conville declared	the Public Hearing closed and the Busin	ess Meeting open to

vote on the request. Commissioner Miller made a motion to deny the request for rezoning with the following basis: There is not a material change in the circumstances and conditions of the neighborhood and areas surrounding the petitioned property and there is not a public need for the change in question, based on the comprehensive plan. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hinton.

**Commissioners voting aye:** Dick Conville, Chairman

Amy Hinton, Vice-Chairman

Mark Miller Paul Sims Jessie Wilson Rebekah Ray

**Commissioners voting nay:** None

There came the matter of Item B (Rezone), filed by Marcus Cooper, Applicant, on behalf of V.L. Dye Jr., Owner, Chip Gren, Agent, as required in the Land Development Code, Ord. No. 3209, to change the zoning classification for a certain property located at 2108 W 4th St. Hattiesburg, MS (Parcel 028G-05-143.00, PPIN 26138; Parcel 028J-05-002.00, 26161, Ward 4) from Section 4.5.7, R-3 (Multi-Family Residential) District and Section 4.5.8 B-1 (Professional Business) District to Section 4.5.10, B-3 (Community Business) District.

Name Address City/State **Presented by:** Marcus Cooper 2708 Sunset Drive Hattiesburg, MS

Applicant

**Proponents:** Bo Dye 18 Dove Hollow Petal, MS

**Opponents:** None

Chairman Conville declared the Public Hearing closed and the Business Meeting open to vote on the request. Commissioner Miller made a motion to approve the request for rezoning with the following basis: There is a material change in the circumstances and conditions of the neighborhood and areas surrounding the petitioned property and there is a public need for the change in question, based on the comprehensive plan. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Sims.

Commissioners voting aye: Dick Conville, Chairman

Amy Hinton, Vice-Chairman

Mark Miller Paul Sims Jessie Wilson

**Commissioners voting nay:** Rebekah Ray

## **BUSINESS MEETING**

The	re being no	further busi	ness, the	meeting v	vas a	adjourned	at 2:15	PM.	Commi	ssioner
Hinton mad	e a motion t	o adjourn the	meeting.	The moti	on w	vas secondo	ed at Co	mmis	sioner V	Vilson.

Dick Conville, Chairman	
Ginger Maddox Lowrey, AICP, G	 CFM, Planning Division Manager