MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE HATTIESBURG PLANNING COMMISSION

February 7, 2018

The Hattiesburg Planning Commission did meet in a regular session on February 7, 2018 at 1:00 p.m. at the Jackie Dole Community Center, 220 West Front Street, Hattiesburg, Mississippi. Dick Conville, Chairman, presided over the meeting. A quorum was indicated and the attendance was as follows:

<u>Commissioners Present:</u>	Dick Conville, Chairman Amy Hinton, Vice-Chairman Mark Miller Paul Sims Isaiah Easterling Kenneth Waites James Hughes Rebekah Ray Judy Corts
<u>Commissioners Absent:</u>	Jessie Wilson Sandra Thompson
<u>Also Present:</u>	Ginger Maddox Lowrey, AICP, Planning Division Manager Andrew Ellard, Director of Urban Development Stephen Guthrie, Planner Steve Mitchell, Building Official

Chairman Conville declared the meeting of the Hattiesburg Planning Commission open and in session at 1:00 P.M.

INVOCATION

Commissioner Ray gave the invocation.

AGENDA REVIEW

There came the matter of the February 2018 Agenda. A request was made by Chairman Conville for a motion to approve the February 2018 Agenda. A motion was made to approve the February 2018 Agenda by Commissioner Corts and seconded by Commissioner Ray.

Commissioners voting aye: Dick Conville, Chairman

Amy Hinton, Vice-Chairman Mark Miller Paul Sims Isaiah Easterling Kenneth Waites James Hughes Rebekah Ray Judy Corts

Commissioners voting nay: None

MINUTES REVIEW

There came the matter of the January 6, 2017, minutes. A request was made by Chairman Conville for a motion to approve the January 3, 2018, minutes with a correction to the votes for two items. A motion was made by Commissioner Hinton to approve the minutes and seconded by Commissioner Ray.

Commissioners voting aye:Dick Conville, Chairman
Amy Hinton, Vice-Chairman
Mark Miller
Paul Sims
Isaiah Easterling
Kenneth Waites
James Hughes
Rebekah Ray
Judy Corts

Commissioners voting nay: None

REPORTS

BUILDING REPORT

There came the matter of the Building Inspection Report. Steve Mitchell provided a building report for October 2017 through January 2018.

PLANNING REPORT

There came the matter of the Planning Report by Ginger Maddox Lowrey, AICP, Planning Division Manager. Mrs. Lowrey introduced three new Planning Commissioners, appointed by City Council on January 6, 0218: Isaiah Easterling (W5), James Hughes (W5), and Kenneth Waits (W1). On January 16, 2018 the City Council reviewed the following Hattiesburg Planning Commission recommendations and voted as follows: The City Council tabled the rezoning of 208 McInnis Springs (HPC denial tabled); City Council approved the rezoning of 2108 West Fourth Street (HPC approval upheld).

CHAIRMAN'S REPORT

There came the matter of the Chairman's Report. Chairman Conville invited Commissioner Miller to present the nominations. Commissioner Mark Miller spoke for the nominating committee, including Commissioner Wilson and Commissioner Ray, and announced the following nominations: Dick Conville – Chairman, Amy Hinton – Vice Chair, Mark Miller – Secretary.

Chairman Conville deferred the order of the meeting to Commission Corts. Commissioner Corts entertained additional nominations from the floor. There were none. Commissioner Corts entertained a motion on the nominations. Chairman Sims made a motion to approve the nominations and Chairman Waits seconded. The vote passed unanimously.

Commissioners voting aye:Dick Conville, Chairman
Amy Hinton, Vice-Chairman
Mark Miller
Paul Sims
Isaiah Easterling
Kenneth Waites
James Hughes
Rebekah Ray
Judy Corts

Commissioners voting nay: None

PUBLIC HEARING – PLANNING COMMISSION

Chairman Conville declared the Public Hearing for the Planning Commission open at 1:25 P.M. and read the rules and procedures of the hearing.

There came the matter of Item A (Rezone), filed by Valerie Cameron, Representative, on behalf of Donnie Myers, Owner as required in the Land Development Code, Ord. No. 3209, to change the zoning classification for a certain property located at 1200 Edwards Street (Parcel 038H-15-198.00, PPIN 26857, Ward 2) from Section 4.5.13, I-1 (Light Industrial) District to Section 4.5.10, B-3 (Community Business) District.

	Name	Address	City/State
Presented by:	Donnie Myers	606 Stevens Street	Hattiesburg, MS
	- Owner		
Proponents:	Alma Myers	606 Stevens Street	Hattiesburg, MS
Opponents:	None		

Chairman Conville declared the Public Hearing closed and the Business Meeting open to vote on the request. Commissioner Miller made a motion to approve the request for rezoning with the following basis: There is a material change in the circumstances and conditions of the neighborhood and areas surrounding the petitioned property and there is a public need for the change in question, based on the comprehensive plan. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hinton.

<u>Commissioners voting aye:</u> Dick Conville, Chairman

Amy Hinton, Vice-Chairman Mark Miller Paul Sims Isaiah Easterling Kenneth Waites James Hughes Rebekah Ray Judy Corts

Commissioners voting nay: None

There came the matter of Item B (Preliminary Plat Review for a Major Subdivision), filed by Shea McNease, Engineer, SD&W, on behalf of Rob Tatum., Owner, as required in the Land Development Code, Ord. No. 3209, to consider an application to file a preliminary plat for a major subdivision (condominiums) for a certain piece of property located between South 31st Avenue and South 30th Avenue, south of Hardy Street Hattiesburg, MS (Parcel 028N-07-078, PPIN 20837; Parcel 028N-07-079.00, PPIN 26492. Ward 3).

	Name	Address	
Presented by:	Rick Sullivan	301 2 nd Ave	
	- Representative, SD&W		
Proponents:	None		
Opponents:	None		

City/State Hattiesburg, MS Chairman Conville declared the Public Hearing closed and the Business Meeting open to vote on the request. Commissioner Miller made a motion to approve an application to file a preliminary plat for a major subdivision for a certain piece of property located between South 31st Avenue and South 30th Avenue, South of Hardy Street. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Corts.

Commissioners voting aye:Dick Conville, Chairman
Amy Hinton, Vice-Chairman
Mark Miller
Paul Sims
Isaiah Easterling
Kenneth Waites
James Hughes
Rebekah Ray
Judy Corts

Commissioners voting nay: None

BUSINESS MEETING

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 1:59 PM. Commissioner Hinton made a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded at Commissioner Corts.

Dick Conville, Chairman

Ginger Maddox Lowrey, AICP, CFM, Planning Division Manager