The Hattiesburg Depot is at the heart of downtown and stands as an icon for Hattiesburg, the Hub City. Located on Newman Street in the City’s oldest historic district- the restoration of the depot has provided a catalyst for reinvestment and growth in downtown and surrounding historic districts. Today, the Train depot remains one of the most unique sites to hold events.
In 1910, Southern Railway Company constructed its Hattiesburg Depot- an impressive black structure designed in the Italian Renaissance style and capped with a caly-tile roof. Its 14,000 square-foot interior included a 4,000 square-foot passenger waiting room. The loading platform was nearly three city blocks long and was covered by a 924 foot-long canopy. It was the largest and most architecturally significant of the city’s three passenger depots and would remain in continuous use from that point on.
In 2000, The City of Hattiesburg purchased the depot and 3.2 acres of land from Norfolk Southern Railways initiating a seven-Year, $10 million restoration and improvement project. The restored Hattiesburg Depot rededicated in April 2007 to function as an intermodal transportation center for rail, bus and taxi service. It would also serve as space for meetings, exhibitions and special events.
The Hattiesburg Train Depot holds the Heritage Award of Excellence awarded by the Mississippi Heritage Trust for historic restoration.