Home → City Government

City Government

Hattiesburg is the third largest city in Mississippi with nearly 50,000 residents. The City of Hattiesburg was incorporated in 1884 and presently operates under a Mayor/Council form of government. The policy-making and legislative authority as well as budgetary responsibilities are vested with the five-member City Council.

The City is divided into five wards for the election of council members. The Mayor is responsible for the day-to-day operations of city government, and much of his work is accomplished through the delegation of duties to his department directors and chiefs, who are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. All elected officials are elected to a four-year term.

Mayor: Johnny L. DuPree, Ph.D.

Principle Municipal Offices: City Hall 200 Forrest Street, Hattiesburg, MS 39401

Hattiesburg City Council Members:
Kim Bradley (council president), Ward 1
Deborah Denard Delgado, Ward 2 
Carter Carroll, Ward 3 
Mary Dryden, Ward 4
Henry Naylor, Ward 5

City Council Agenda and Minutes

Hattiesburg City Council Meeting Times: First and third Monday and Tuesday of each month. Monday work sessions are at 4 p.m., and Tuesday regular meetings are at 4:30 p.m.